LCF ACCESS FASHION FINALE 2011


Apart from my regular make-up, hair, styling & modelling work, I’ve been wanting to begin fashion blogging for a while now but could never seem to find the time being part of a very demanding course at The London College of Fashion. Having broken for Summer 2011 and with not much productive work to do besides shopping, parties, exploring London and spending time with loved ones, I’ve decided to finally, officially launch my fashion blog as part of my site on WordPress.com. Considering I recently showed at the LCF Access Fashion show, I thought the best way to start blogging would be by doing a story on the show and a little about the year’s hard work behind it!

Moving to London in September 2010 – away from family, friends, the most amazing life ever and the city I was born & brought up in – Mumbai – to pursue my dream of becoming a fashion designer starting at The London College of Fashion was definitely one of the most complicated adjustments of my life! At first instance, the radiance of the city immediately lit up a smile under my shades, left me amazed and overwhelmed at the same time. I was beyond excited to start at LCF but little did I know that I was competing against the best of the best in one of the biggest and most important fashion hubs in the world, and settling down in London whilst managing the ton of work from college would be the most challenging task ever! My first collection was more of a trial run that showed me my strengths and weaknesses as a womenswear designer, but however, I slogged my ass off on my second collection for fall 2012 – ‘The Rebirth of Punk’ – and I’m glad it was taken very well by the critics & tutors at LCF. The concept of my collection was about dislocating the punks from the 1970s and relocating them in the future, thus drawing inspiration from the subculture & futurism – futuristic architecture, art, cars etc. – and cohesively blending them into an avant-garde, yet wearable, silhouette-oriented collection. Luckily, out of the vast amounts of research, design development and sleepless nights, we were asked to realise only one look which was to be showcased at the end of year fashion show.

The day of the show had finally arrived and like a fool, I hadn’t slept the entire night before – partially due to excitement and partially because I’m quite an insomniac that way! I reached the venue in Lime Grove at 9.30AM and it was going to be a long, hectic, tiring day as I was not only showcasing my creation but also doing the make-up & hair of the stunning Sundal Roy – who was modelling for me and designer Chloe Burrage – and modelling myself for designer Kevin Louis, which of course meant I was doing my own hair & make-up!

Make-up & hair started at 10.00AM and backstage was absolute chaos! Luckily for Chloe, Sundal and me, we were ready to show way before time!

Model SUNDAL ROY

Backstage: Sundal Roy & Vir Shete

Backstage: Sundal Roy & Vir Shete

0160

Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

Chloe Burrage, Sundal Roy & Vir Shete

Sundal Roy, Vir Shete & Chloe Burrage

Sundal Roy, Vir Shete & Chloe Burrage

The first show started at about 12.00PM and Sundal closed the show with my creation!

0171

Designer CHLOE BURRAGE | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE | Photography PETE WAND-TETLEY - http://ebbingtidephotography.blogspot.com/

0170

Designer CHLOE BURRAGE | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE | Photography PETE WAND-TETLEY - http://ebbingtidephotography.blogspot.com/

0164

Designer CHLOE BURRAGE | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0165

Designer, make-up & hair VIR SHETE | Photography PETE WAND-TETLEY - http://ebbingtidephotography.blogspot.com/

0166

Designer, make-up & hair VIR SHETE | Photography PETE WAND-TETLEY - http://ebbingtidephotography.blogspot.com/

0168

Designer, make-up & hair VIR SHETE | Photography PETE WAND-TETLEY - http://ebbingtidephotography.blogspot.com/

0169

Designer CHLOE BURRAGE | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE | Photography PETE WAND-TETLEY - http://ebbingtidephotography.blogspot.com/

0167

Designer, make-up & hair VIR SHETE | Photography PETE WAND-TETLEY - http://ebbingtidephotography.blogspot.com/

The first show was done in about 30 minutes after which I was just so exhausted that I needed to get away from the venue for a short bit, especially backstage, though I had to start getting ready to walk in the third show for Kevin Louis. I loitered around, relaxed my nerves, socialized a little, wasted more time and then made it back just in time – 15 minutes before the show, when the rehearsals were going on! Kevin was panicking because he had no idea where I’d disappeared but I got back, took over control and before I knew it, I was ready to rock!

Backstage: Photography CARLO WILLIAMS

Backstage: Designer Kevin Louis with his models

Kevin Louis & Vir Shete

Photography CARLO WILLIAMS

Backstage: Carlo Williams & Vir Shete

Backstage: Photography CARLO WILLIAMS

Vir Shete

Carlo Williams & Vir Shete

Carlo Williams & Vir Shete

Backstage: Kevin Louis with his models

Though I was dead tired, very late for make-up & hair and missed the rehearsals, I think I did a great job on the runway and closed the last show of the day perfectly!

0182

Designer KEVIN LOUIS | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0183

Designer KEVIN LOUIS | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0184

Model VIR SHETE

0185

Designer KEVIN LOUIS | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0186

Designer KEVIN LOUIS | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0187

Designer KEVIN LOUIS | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0188

Designer KEVIN LOUIS | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0189

Designer KEVIN LOUIS | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0190

Designer KEVIN LOUIS | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0191

Designer KEVIN LOUIS | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0192

Designer KEVIN LOUIS | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0193

Designer KEVIN LOUIS | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0194

Designer KEVIN LOUIS | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0195

Designer KEVIN LOUIS | Make-up & hair VIR SHETE

0196

Model VIR SHETE

Well, that was about it for my work in this year’s show! It was definitely a great experience and I had a fabulous time! Everyone put up a brilliant performance, but then again, another year has come to an end!  I’m truly going to miss this place as I’ve met some amazing people and definitely learnt a hell of a lot more about fashion! Cheers to Access Fashion for totally killing it! 😉

Here are some shots of pieces from the fashion show that I found most interesting, innovative, appealing and exciting to look at! – Photography CARLO WILLIAMS
_____________________________________________________

Model PEGGY

Designer HOPE CARMANI

Model SAM ROKNIVAND

Designer EMMA RAVENS | Model Tatiana Makrinova

Model SAM ROKNIVAND

Designer NATHANIEL JAHIRI

Designer SAMA ALI

Model PEGGY

Designer HOPE CARMANI


4 Comments on “LCF ACCESS FASHION FINALE 2011”

  1. Shradha says:

    Looks like all the hard work payed off because your design was beautiful 🙂 You should blog more often; you’re good at it.

  2. aishwarya shukla says:

    wow…didnt know u wer so profesional wen it comes to all this….really really impressive…i think we have another baby gia comming


Leave a Reply

